The Future

In two weeks time I will have finished my third year of college and will be heading into my fourth and final year. In just over a years time I will have finished my university degree and will be heading into the real world. This past week and the two to come are filled with meetings to discuss what will happen in my final year and after. I even have a meeting with the principle of college to discuss my career plans post college. Scary stuff!

I’ve known for about a year know that I don’t want to do too much playing once I’ve left college, partially because of a shoulder injury which I have realised is unlikely to heal back to its full strength in which I could play and perform on a regular basis, but also because much of the playing no longer interests me. I don’t dislike performing, infact I quite enjoy playing in concerts, especially when playing solo or small ensemble works, but I don’t enjoy the rehearsing, a rather vital part of being a performer. Up until this year, all I wanted to do was teach, but, having spent time in a deprived secondary school, I have come to terms with the fact that working in such a school would not sustain me or let my soul thrive, something I feel vital when you spend day after day there for years. 

As of this year I have started training as a spiritual therapist. I have been able to practice my oracle readings on people I know very little about, have seen my abilities thrive my spirituality grow. I can now honestly say that I am the happiest I have ever been and know that a career in holistic therapies is something that is not only right for me but something I was meant to do.

I have never been one to be scared of the future. For as long as I can remember I have been discussing my aspirations, ideas and dreams with friends and family and I am known for jumping upon an idea before fully thinking it through and even now my school friends are leaving university and become ‘real adults’, I am still not scared of having to live and survive off my own back. The reality, however, is starting to hit me. My dreams are becoming reality and I am seeing how much work goes into living, let alone working. There is still so much left that I have to learn, I have no idea how taxes work for example, but I am getting there slowly. I brought my tax disc for my car for the first time this year and later on will be booking it in or an MOT, all tasks that seem simple to many people but for me is another step towards independence. In september I will start looking for a house to move into with my boyfriend and with that we may start setting up our own home properly, discussing many other things that come with long term relationships.

Reality is slowly dawning on me and, although excited for all these things to happen, I am appreciative of how big these things really are. I am thankful that I have my spirituality, not only to ground me so that I don’t get caught in a dream world, but also to keep me strong when things get a little too much. And, as I watch my school friends graduate from university, I am thankful that I have another year of college left to fully make my decisions and make sure they are well informed, before heading into the big wide world.

XxxX

 

 

 

Leave a comment